Confessions of a Dangerous Mind

Friday May 10th 22nd, 2019


Friday is one of my favourite days. Not only because it's the end of the work week, but also for the fact that Friday is typically the day an abundance of new music gets released. With this weeks rollout, my favourite artist Logic released his new album Confessions of a Dangerous Mind.

Today's post will be a review of the album in its entirety. This album has been hyped up a lot and the singles leading up to this release were sublime. Let's get started, shall we?

1. Confessions of a Dangerous Mind

This was the second single he released to hype up this project. I personally think this track shows a lot of Logic's potential and definitely spreads his positive message. It has a lot of The Incredible True Story vibes.

2. Homicide (feat. Eminem)

This guy got Eminem on this album.. One of his idol's and role models. Logic has wanted to work with Eminem since day 1. Although I'm always in Logic's corner, I think Eminem really took this track to the next level. Rap God.

3. Wannabe

A short song with a really smooth flow. 8/10.

4. clickbait

The main story Logic wanted to tell with this album is how social media has taken over society. It's very explicit in the lyrics of some of the songs, but I know this track has that message loud and clear. I'm also a fan of Logic's singing voice vs. his rapping voice.

5. Mama/Show Love (feat. YBN Cordae)

A solid track. Logic really brings out his rap side on this track, and YBN Cordae definitely shows his potential here as well. I would definitely like to see more work from these two together. The flow switch near the halfway point was very smooth.

6. Out Of Sight

One of my personal favourite numbers on this album. I absolutely love the beat and the flow Logic has with it. Very simple. It gives me some Drake vibes to be honest though.. Is that just me?

7. Pardon My Ego

Bobby Tarantino II vibes on this one for sure. Classic Logic, just feelin himself.

8. COMMANDO (feat. G-Eazy)

I think this track is a lot of fun lyrically. I can picture Logic and G-Eazy just chillin in a studio havin' a blast and they just start recording whatever comes to their heads. HeeHee.

9. Icy (feat. Gucci Mane)

Another solid track produced by 6ix. I really like the chorus though, just sounds different but cool. Logic has a lot of solid lyrics on this one talking about money and his status in the rap game. Gucci Mane slowed this track down a bit during his part, a solid feature.

10. Still Ballin (feat. Wiz Khalifa)

Ah, another collab with Wiz. This track doesn't belong on anywhere else but on this album. A unique number, with great flow and lyrics. I wasn't a big fan of Wiz's part though. No hate though, he's still killin the game.

11. Cocaine

Just a good 2 bar track with solid lyrics. Nothing crazy here.

12. Limitless

Logic just doing his thing. Some more Drake vibes, mixed with a little Gambino and J. Cole.

13. Keanu Reeves

The title of the song says it all.

14. Don't Be Afraid To Be Different (feat. Will Smith)

HE GOT WILL SMITH ON THIS ALBUM TOO?! WHAT. And for those of you who don't know, Will Smith did used to rap quite a bit. But man, these two together are so fresh. I loved 6ix's work on this track. 10/10.

15. BOBBY (feat. My Dad)

Oh damn, that's a soooolid beat. Smooth flow. Really has a distinct Gambino vibe to it. Would love to see Gambino sample this to be honest. It's also really great to see Logic's father collabing with him.

16. Lost In Translation

Yeah, just put me back on the Aquarius III. This has The Incredible True Story written all over it. The flow switch about 2 minutes in was very smooth. Felt like I was entering Paradise.

And that's all folks. Another incredible project by the man himself Bobby Hall. Tweet at me your favourite track from the album and why @curtisfreezin! Peace, Love and Positivity!

Happy Friday all! Cheers!🍻

Back to Blog